• The Hunger Game Trilogy (2010)
    (Suzanne Collins, American television writer and author)
    The trilogy consists of The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay, which was released on August, 2010. A powerful government working in a central city called the Capitol holds power in a post-apocalyptic world where North America once stood. In the book, the Hunger Games are an annual televised event where the Capitol chooses one boy and one girl from each district to fight to the death…
  • The Power and the Glory (1940)
    (Graham Greene, English novelist)
    Story of a Roman Catholic priest in the state of Tabasco in Mexico
    during the 1930s, when the Mexican government strove to suppress the
    Catholic Church.
  • Fiesta / The Sun also Rises – 1926
    (Ernest Hemingway, American author and journalist)
    American expatriates leave for Spain to do some fishing and later attend the fiesta and bull fights at Pamplona.
  • The Importance of Being Earnest (1895)
    (Oscar Wilde, Irish playwright)
    Algernon, an aristocratic young Londoner, pretends to have a friend
    named Bunbury who lives in the country and is frequently sick: whenever
    Algernon wants to avoid an unwelcome social obligation, or just get away
    for the weekend, he visits his friend.
  • Lord of the Flies – 1954
    (William Golding, British novelist and poet)
    In the midst of a raging war, a plane evacuating a group of schoolboys
    from Britain is shot down over a deserted tropical island.The boys try
    to govern themselves with disastrous results.
  • The Life and Loves of a She Devil – 1983
    (Fay Weldon, British feminist author)
    Story of a woman who, when she finds out she is being betrayed by her husband, goes to great lengths to take revenge on him and his lover.
  • The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole Aged 13 3/4 – 1982
    (Sue Townsend, British novelist)
    First book in the Adrian Mole series of comedic fiction. It focuses on
    the worries and regrets of a teenager who believes himself to be an
  • The Crucible – 1952
    (Arthur Miller, American playwright)
    Play based upon the events in 1692, which led to the Salem Witch Trials,
    a series of hearings before local magistrates to prosecute over 150
    people accused of witchcraft in colonial Massachusetts (126p).